DVD World Dutch DVD magazine oktober 2001 issue

The Legends Continues DVD Review

Translation by Monique Spruit ( Thanks again Monique)

From “DVD World”

Uriah Heep has been around for some 30 years and has been through it all musically. Now there finally is a DVD on the market with a lot of extras.

Heep’s fans are very loyal, they’ve proven that much over the past years. They usually buy anything by the band and this item is a gem. First of all there is a 1 hour and 45 min concert on this DVD, made up from four different shows. The filming is very sharp and when you zoom in it looks acceptable. A downer is the fact that it is a 4:3 image, no widescreen which was to be expected prior to release. The sound however, has been a lot of attention to as it sounds very clear. Of course there is a lot of new material on this DVD but the classics haven’t been left out, like “Stealin’”, “Easy Living”, “Gypsy” and “look at Yourself”. Apart from the concert there are many interviews, concert photos, the fanclub, the presentation of a gold record, biographies, a sound-check while playing “Come Away Melinda” and a presentation of what can be bought as far as merchandise.

The line-up of Uriah Heep has been the same for the past 15 years so we can see Bernie Shaw (vocals), Lee Kerslake (drums), Phil Lanzon (keys), Trevor Boulder (bass) and Mick Box (guitar). That they have been together for the past 15 years is an achievement in itself, but it can also be heard. Most bands don’t last for more than a couple of years. OK, Abba is a band that have kept up the same line-up for years, but they are among exceptions. In short, this DVD is worth buying if you love music. Do check out their website: www.uriah-heep.com

Henry Knegt